Infinite Possibilities

"opening doorways to your soul"

Chakra Basics by Pamela Aloia

on August 15, 2012

Chakra Basics

Chakras are wheels of energy that help regulate the energy flow of our body.  Similar to the meridians in our body, chakras can become blocked by various factors that prevent them from functioning optimally. Our body is full of chakras – we have main chakras and many, many minor chakras.  For the point of brevity I will focus on the seven main chakras that are commonly discussed. The below indicates the physical location of the chakra.


Third Eye 



Solar Plexus



Each chakra is associated with various physical and emotional aspects. There is plenty of corresponding information on the internet with regard to what each chakra represents and affects, so I will refrain from explaining that here.

The chakras are designed to be positioned in our centerline, along the spine for ease of reference.  The crown chakra is facing up above our head and the root chakra faces down to the ground.  All the other main chakras have two cone-shaped spirals of energy – one facing and extending out the front of the body, and the other extending out the back of our body. The smallest part of the cones of these chakras meets at the spine.

Healthy chakras are open and spin clockwise.  (The ones in the back also spin clockwise.) The “face” of the chakra should be parallel to the body and spinning at a decent rate. This rate will be different for everyone.  Each chakra may spin at different rates. Chakra size should be comparable to each other.

Some minor chakras worth mentioning are the navel chakra and the high heart chakra.  The navel chakra is positioned between the sacral and the solar plexus chakras; the high heart or thymus chakra is positioned in between the heart and the throat chakra. Minor chakras exist at the body joints as well.

If you want to learn more about your chakra and their health, a great way to start is working with chakra meditations. Regular practice of these meditations and other methods, help us become more sensitive to the our chakras’ energies.

Stay tuned for the next blog post on chakra states.

– Pamela Aloia

Check out more at
Get a copy fo Pamela’s book “52 Pick Me Up“!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: